المركز البحري
المركز البحري

المركز البحري

هل كنت تعلم؟

يجيب علماء الأحياء البحرية التابعين لنا على ما يطرحه الزوار من الأسئلة الشائعة حول عالم ما تحت الماء.

هل يغرق القرش إذا توقف عن السباحة؟

يعتمد هذا على نوع سمك القرش نفسه. وبصفة عامة، يجب أن يستمر القرش في السباحة لسببين. الأول، لا يمتلك القرش زعانف السباحة التي تتمتع بها معظم الأسماك والتي تستخدمها في الطفو، لذا يحتاج القرش إلى السباحة المستمرة لكيلا يغوص في الأعماق.

ثانيًا، القرش، شأنه شأن أي مخلوق بحري آخر، يستمد الأكسجين اللازم لتنفسه من المياه. تستخدم الأسماك ذات العظام عضلاتها لضخ الماء عبر خياشيمها لاستخلاص الأكسجين. إلا أن القرش يستخدم نظام خاص من التنفس يلزمه بالسباحة ليدخل الماء إلى خياشيمه.

وعلى أي حال، تمتلك بعض أنواع القرش كالقرش الممرض آليات خاصة تساعدها على إدخال الماء إلى خياشيمها بحيث لا تضطر إلى السباحة دائمًا لتتمكن من التنفس. وتعرف هذه الطريقة باسم الضخ الفموي، حيث تسحب عضلات الوجه الماء إلى داخل الفم ثم تمررها عبر الخياشيم

كم المدة التي تستطيع فيها السلاحف البقاء تحت الماء دون تنفس؟

عندما تكون السلحفاة نشطة، فيتعين عليها السباحة بالقرب من سطح البحر للتنفس كل 30 دقيقة. أما عند الراحة، فيمكنها البقاء تحت الماء لمدة تصل إلى ثلاث ساعات دون تنفس.

لماذا تظهر الصور تحت الماء زرقاء للغاية؟

يظهر المحيط باللون الزرق لأن الماء - إذا كان صافيًا ونقيًا - يمتص ويرشح الطيف الأحمر من الضوء وهذا ما يجعل الصورة زرقاء إلا عند التصوير من مسافة قريبة جدا. للحصول على صور جيدة تحت الماء، يجب أن تقترب قدر الإمكان مما ترغب في تصويره. كما ننصح بمحاولة التصوير من أعلى أو بزاوية ميل لتتمكن من فصل موضوع تصويرك عن خلفيته قدر الإمكان.

هل أسماك القرش في باروس خطرة؟

لا، أسماك القرش لدينا هي من فصيلة الحيد، التي لا تهاجم البشر. ولديها الكثير من الأسماك في المحيط لتتغذى عليها. ولم تُسجل أي حالة هجوم من القرش على البشر في المالديف

هل حقيقي أن منسوب مياه البحر في تزايد؟

أجل. فعلى مدار 100 عامًا الماضية، ارتفع منسوب سطح البحر بمقدار 10 - 25 سم تقريبًا، ويتوقع العملاء أن يظل في تزايد. وسيستمر منسوب سطح البحر في تزايد حتى لو استقر المناخ، وذلك لأن المحيطات تستجيب ببطء شديد للتغيرات

لماذا يحظر اخذ المحار الميت من البحر إلى المنزل؟

يوفر المحار الفارغ ملجأ لعدد من أنواع السرطان الناسك لذا يحظر إزالتها من على الشاطئ. يلجأ السرطان الناسك لاستخدام المحار والصدف لحماية ظهره الرخو ويحتاج إلى صدفة جديدة لتكون كمنزله كلما نما حجمه.

Other underwater:

الغطس

المركز البحري

استكشاف ما تحت الماء

البيئة

الغطس بالقرب من السطح

Marine Life Facts
Marine Life Facts

Baros Marine Centre

Marine Life Facts

Baros' Marine Biologist answers some of the most commonly asked questions about the underwater world.

Will a shark drown if it stops moving?

That depends on the shark. Generally, they have to swim for two reasons. First, sharks lack the swim bladder that most fish use to adjust their buoyancy – swimming creates lift that prevents sharks from sinking.

Second, sharks, like other marine animals, get their oxygen from the water. Bony fishes use muscles to pump water through their gills, where oxygen is extracted. Sharks, however, use a ramjet ventilation system that requires them to swim to force water to the gills.

However, sharks like nurse sharks have mechanisms to move water through their gills so they do not need to swim constantly to breathe. This method is called buccal pumping, whereby cheek muscles pull water into the mouth and over the gills.

How long can turtles stay underwater without breathing?

When they are active, sea turtles must swim to the surface to breathe every 30 minutes. When they are resting, they can remain underwater for as long as three hours without breathing.

Why do underwater photos look so blue?

The ocean looks blue because water – even when very clear – absorbs and filters out the red side of the colour spectrum so pictures look blue, unless you get close. For good underwater photographs, get as close to your subject as possible. Try to shoot up or across, in order to make your subject stand out from the background as much as possible.

Are the sharks at Baros dangerous?

No, our sharks are reef sharks, which do not attack humans. They have plenty of fish in the ocean to feed on. An unprovoked shark attack has never been recorded in the Maldives.

Is it true that the sea level is rising?

Yes. Over the past 100 years, the sea level has risen 10-25cm and scientists expect this to increase. Sea levels will continue rising even if the climate stabilises because the ocean reacts slowly to changes.

Why isn’t it permitted to take dead shells back home?

Empty shells offer shelter for hermit crabs and therefore must not be removed from our beaches. Hermit crabs use shells to protect their soft abdomen and have to find a new shell every time they outgrow their old 'house'.

Other underwater:

Diving

Marine centre

Water sports

Environment

SNORKELLING